Teton Wings

In the fall of 2011, I visited Yellowstone and Grand Teton National parks over the Labor Day weekend. At one point, while stopped at the top of a scenic point in Teton, I found myself standing alone, watching asters seemingly overtaken by fritillary butterflies. Across the road from where I stood was the lookout to view the vast expanse and mountains. There the people flocked. I wondered how no one seemed to notice all this little beauty. I do love the mountains and appreciated that vista also but it surprised me that few took notice of the colorful insect activity. One person even asked what I was looking at.
This is a combination of memory and study from photos of that time. Brilliant oranges with complex patterns of the fritillaries and commas fluttering on flowers with fiery skippers, a blue, ladybugs, bees, flies and a Western white all joining in.

Acrylic on birch, 24″ x 24″, 2012

2 thoughts on “Teton Wings

  1. Oh I really love this one. Your work is lovely, thank you for dropping by my blog as it gave me the chance to see yours. I love the colour and movement of your work, beautiful and full of life. Karen

    1. Thank you very much, Karen. It was that colorful with lots of fluttering. I can’t wait for the butterflies to return…still snow and cold yet…but I know they will be waking up and returning from migration soon. You are welcome – loved your flowers. Keep creating! Kristin

Leave a Reply

