The” Animal a Day” series took a different route for a couple of days. Asked to be a part of a self portrait art exhibit, I was placed in the uncomfortable position to actually make an image of my face. It was uncomfortable for me at least. Most of my life’s work has focused on nature. Granted I am nature, too, but using the human figure is usually not my first choice or much of a choice at all. Speaking through drawings and paintings of trees and animals fits more with what I wish to communicate. But making friends with this challenge was necessary. I asked myself what I wanted the viewer to know about me. Sharing the scene with animals made sense since they live with me, bringing humor and unconditional commitment.

4 thoughts on “Self Portrait….”Animal a Day” Art Series

Leave a Reply

