Scan 594
“Rocky Mountain Lakes Life”

A new year always brings motivation to start fresh so I have returned to my blog. For the next few weeks, my weekly post will be an image from my Rocky Mountain National Park artist in residence in August of 2015 and the story behind it.

“Rocky Mountain Lakes Life” is a collection of what I saw during a day of hiking up to Bear, Nymph and Dream lakes. The sketches began with the mountain in the center. My goddaughter was feeling the altitude so we sat and waited until she felt better. In the meantime, I pulled out my pencils, watercolors and micron pens, compelled to record the colors and the curvature of the rocky formation before us. It is a small sampling of the pinks, purples, greens, and yellows witnessed.

After my godchild had filled up on water and nourishment, we were on our way. The first lake on this popular trio of lakes trail is Bear Lake, a mere feet from the trailhead. I did not see anything here to paint, plus we were anxious to begin real hiking.

The next lake was Nymph lake; appropriately named, as all the yellow lily pads and glasslike mountain reflections opens up one’s imagination to the possibility of seeing magical creatures and lilliputian beings. While we did not see any of the former, I recorded ants, water skimmers, damselflies mating and a white insect (in upper right of image), of which I still do not know the name. This white one did hold a bit of magic though, as it skimmed across the water, rolled over onto leaves then sat upon them. This process was repeated more than once. I had to use my binoculars to draw it.

The final lake was Dream Lake. Here is where trout can clearly be seen, showing off their salmon pink, red and gold. I was also drawn to a tiny yellow flower amidst the roots of a tree. It was probably only about a half inch in size. A magnifier was required to see it for all its detail. I did the best I could in capturing it but there is more to be seen then what I have here. This is always the frustration with nature, there is so much present than one can possibly record. It is also what keeps me wanting to continue to observe. One always finds something new.

 

 

Leave a Reply

