crayfish-family-artspan

“Crayfish Family” – Acrylic on Wood, 2016

24″ x 24″

The painting is a result of sketching at the Menomonee River with my college art students last spring. They knew of my interest in creatures so it wasn’t long before I was called over to see the crayfish in the water. Her brilliant colors were stunning but unfortunately, she had passed. However, I suspected there was life to be found, so I began to pick up rocks and look underneath. Much to my delight, I found a dozen or so “baby” crayfish.

I chose to depict her alive with her young, as the water flows. I appreciated how the river changed from revealing forms to concealing and reflection.

More of my art can be found at http://www.kgjerdset.com.

 

Leave a Reply

